What Do You See?

So years ago when some of our closest friends told us they were going to have a baby we immediately had the talk.  The talk about what everyone thinks but never says right after a baby is born.  “If our baby is ugly, will you tell us?””  We promised we would and they promised they would admit if their kid came out looking like something off The Walking Dead.

Yes they are cute and cuddly and tiny and new.  But some of these babes come out all cone head-ish and goopy eyed, and then the parents hand them to you and all you can honestly say is “ohhh, it’s a baby.”

Lucky for them they had 3 perfect and beautiful babes.  Having beautiful babes isn’t a contest (wink wink, momsters whose kids have a better wardrobe than mine.  Baby Zara, really?  I once bought 1 glove from the clearance bin) but if it was a contest, I think we’re down a few.  Even the very excited, incredibly loving grandma said “wow, they look like planets in outer space” (don’t worry mom, I’ll never tell them.  You never said it, like you “never smoked a cigarette”).  Someone else suggested a pile of dirt, so come on, don’t be shy, what do you see?  Best answer gets to name the first one out!

photo 3

But to all 7 of my little frozen buns, let this be your first life lesson.  It’s only a stage, this will pass…and if you are ugly as sin forever I will always, always love you anyways-because when I look at you all I can see is the most precious gift I have ever been given…

…and moon craters, a little.

7 comments

  1. They are BEAUTIFUL no matter what they look like, but I have to agree with your sweet mom, planets…the moon really! Love and hugs to all!

  2. They look like little plantar warts. But warts are very persistent…they withstand even the worst of circumstances and continue to grow and grow and grow.

  3. Hi, I happened upon your blog through pinterest (of all things), I have no idea who you are or where you live…. but I can tell you we have many things in common. lol. You brought a smile to my face, missy. Thank-you. I wish I could say I had you amazing whit and charm going through this IVF process… but unfortunately when I roll out of the “baby makers” office I look more like a rat drowned in whiskey. Well, needless to say… thank god for drugs. lol ANYWAY! I wish you the best with your frozen and fresh brood. They all look pretty awesome to me ❤

    -D

Leave a comment